Yes, I’m counting down

Just counting down the days until travel day.  I was at Insight Coffee Roasters this morning waiting for my usual iced Americano.  Man, they make the best coffee hands down…well, at least for the Sacramento area.  Ok, focus.  While waiting for my coffee this morning, I had this thought.  What exactly should I be blogging about before, during, and after my trip?  Should I focus primarily on the whole experience itself?  Should I talk about the food I’ll be eating?  Should I note the family members I haven’t seen since I last left?  Should I talk about the modified exercise routines that I might be doing?  I mean, there are so many questions.

Heck, I get my coffee and I take a seat in the front area with a view of the passing pedestrians and traffic and think..a ha!  Simply put – I’ll write about travel, Filipino culture/food, family I have never met before, trying to maintain some sort of exercise routine and trying not to waiver off too much from my regular diet.  I suppose I’ll just watch my portions.  It’s going to be hard.

So, from Thursday night through Sunday morning, I’m making sure I get enough rest and exercise because Sunday through Tuesday will be the longest ever for traveling!  I’ll be flying out of Sacramento just after Noon to LAX first because I’m meeting up with my cousins Efren and Myrna.  From LAX, we board a 12 ½ hour flight to Guam first.  The layover is about 45 minutes – not sure exactly what we’re doing over there yet.  From Guam, we continue on to Manila on a 3 ½ hour flight for about a 4 hour layover, then board a 1 hour flight to Laoag.  So, leaving Sunday and arriving on Tuesday.  Technically, it’s about a 31 hour journey including all the stopovers.  Laoag is 16 hours…AHEAD!  When we cross the International Date Line, I think about that movie, the Langoliers.  Ha…

On my Google Nexus 7, I have 2 movies:  Skyfall and Hunger Games.  Why those movies?  Well, they both had that Ultraviolet option of watching movies “offline” and I currently owned them anyway.  I’m thinking of downloading an entire season of Strike Back too.  Hmm…I also have 2 e-books I downloaded from Amazon Kindle.  One of them is about US Navy SEAL Adam Brown.  He was part of the US Navy SEAL Team 6 that executed Osama.  I think it would be an interesting read.  I also downloaded a book about the Holocaust.  Besides that, I believe I’ve got over 3 gigs’ worth of downloaded music as well.  I did all this in case I get bored with the flight entertainment or I just happen to get an inoperable viewing device.

That’s it for now.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

